A Social Media Newbie

In the last blog I talked about social media sites. These are extremely necessary for promoting your book and company. I know very little about social media. I’m in my mid forties and this does not come easily to me. My kids are my mentors and teachers. (Yes, my kids are teenagers, the acknowledged experts in this field!) I am trying to make myself get comfortable using Facebook and this blog. I will soon be setting up a Twitter account. LinkedIn is also on the list, as is Google+. But one step at a time.

I’ve had a Facebook page for a couple of years, but am only really just starting to use it. Yes, for most of that time I was a lurker in Facebook. I try to post at least once or twice a week. I’m told I actually need to post more often. Sigh. I’m trying.

Twitter is going to be tough for me but I will do what I have to do. Luckily my partner is very talented at web design, so he is doing all of that. I suggest stuff that I like from surfing but I have no idea how to do it. If I didn’t have Jason, I would have to hire someone to do it.

Okay, so now you know my short comings in the social media arena. But I know that I need to improve my understanding and knowledge of these things. As with all things that I need to learn, I go out and find the information. I read books, talk to other authors, other friends on FB, Twitter, LinkedIn, etc. And I have found some very informative videos about the subject. Right before I wrote this installment of the blog, I attended a webinar (free, my favorite price!) on social media.

It’s slow going but I am learning. And trying. And actually having fun doing it, most of the time.

Here is the book I’m currently reading this is very informative…. The Zen of Social Media Marketing: An Easier Way to Build Credibility, Generate Buzz, and Increase Revenue by Shama Kabani and Chris Brogan.

The webinar that I just minutes ago attended is given my Dennis J Smith. Excellent webinar on social media and it gave me lots to think about and implement. To contact him check out his website http://www.DennisJSmith.com. He also suggested another social media expert MariSmith.com. Check them out. Great information.

If you know of any great sites or places to learn more about social media, post a comment and I’ll pass it along. In the meantime, keep learning. Stay tuned.

I

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

