And Now For Something Completely Different…

Yes, I’m a big Monty Python fan. But that being said, I decided that once a month I’m going to do a review of a book I’ve read. I’ll try to only do recent books I’ve read but it depends on a lot of factors (i.e. how much time I’ve had that month). So every fourth Sunday of the month it will be a review.

The Dirty Parts of the Bible by Sam Torode is my pick to start this off. I picked it up on a free sale via Amazon for my Kindle. I really don’t know why I picked it. Something in the name of the title I guess intrigued me I guess.

The plot is set in the 30’s in Michigan through Texas. A seventeen year old boy Tobias Henry comes of age as he is sent on a trip to Texas by his father. His father, a Baptist minister, is blinded in an accident and is about to get kicked out of town so he send Tobias to recover hidden money in an abandoned well in his old homestead in Texas. Tobias must travel from Michigan to Texas by himself. During this epic adventure he meets several colorful characters, including a very likeable character, Craw. Craw teaches Tobias the ways of the hobos. When they reach Texas, more adventures await him including true love.

The book kept my interest which is something because I read in spurts. Ten minutes here, half an hour here, five minutes there. The story had a pretty good pace and the emotional growth of Tobias is as expected, after all it is a coming of age story. I felt that the quick turnaround of the father was a little abrupt and some parts were predicable.

Craw was impressive though. I did find him to be the best of the story. The ending was a little too sweet for me, but not unexpected. Although not one of my all time favorites, it was still a good read and I would recommend it to someone looking for just a little something to enjoy.

Here is the link to Amazon for The Dirty Parts of the Bible. http://www.amazon.com/The-Dirty-Parts-Bible-Novel/dp/1419667394

If you have a recommended book that you would love for me to review, put a comment here and I’ll see what I can do. Stay tuned.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

