Deadlines

Do deadlines inspire you or make you crazy? Why do I ask? I ask because deadlines are a part of every author’s life (and publisher’s life too, if you think about it). They are there for a reason, obviously so that things get done. However they can be a big pain in the you know what. So back to the original question… do they inspire you or just drive you crazy?

I live with the King of Procrastination. No really, I do. Deadlines for him are a motivating factor and not in the way you are thinking. He actually does his best work when he is facing that deadline that is just hours or minutes away. But it usually is his best stuff. So he is inspired, nah, works at his best under the gun.

I, on the other hand, am on the side that deadlines drive me crazy. I know they are important but they make me crazy. I hate to get behind and start facing down that deadline. I like to get things done before they are due. Usually. Most of time. But there are times when I get behind and begin to feel the deadline breathing down my neck.

It does not inspire me. It panics me. So I have to take a deep breath and put it out of my mind. Concentrate on the job at hand. And work until it’s done.

You’re probably wondering why this is the topic of this post, beyond me ranting again… As I said deadlines are or will be a part of your life. So, it is important for you know how you will react to them. And if you need to work on how you deal with them, you should start now. Start making deadlines for yourself. It could be as simple as something like this… If I don’t write a scene by the end of the week/day, I won’t be able to watch/play my favorite TV show/video game. And stick to it. Made the deadline count. Learn what you need to do in order to meet those nasty deadlines.

Okay, so I’ve procrastinated enough with this blog. Time to get back to work… I have a deadline looming over my head. No, really I do, but… Yeah, deadlines drive me crazy!

Stay tuned…

Angela Abderhalden
Acquiring Editor
Seventh Wave Books, LLC
Seventhwavebooks@gmail.com
http://www.seventhwavebooks.com

PS- Don’t forget about the free phone conference for all stages of writers. This Saturday, February 23, 2013, at 10 a.m. Mountain Time. Email me for the phone number and code. We’ll have four authors, two editors, and a book cove designer. Join us and ask questions.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

