Best and Better

This blog’s topic is one that I’ve touched on before but it is so important that I want to address is again. In my mundane job, you know the one that I have to work to pay the rent and put food on the table, we have a saying or motto… Today I did my best, but tomorrow I will do better.

I was thinking about that as I waited for another call (yes, I work in a call center), and I thought how appropriate that is for writers too. When I write today I do the best I can, but I always need to improve myself. Always. Learning is so important in this business.

Although the ‘art’ of writing hasn’t changed in centuries, after all we’ve been putting words on paper for years, the way that we form words, sentences, paragraphs, and manuscripts have change and continue to change. We no longer write like we did in the 1800’s, nor in the 1960’s. We write faster, meaning the action moves faster. Competing with all the other media in our life is the main cause of that.

But the bigger aspect of this topic is the major changes going on in the industry. Who would have thought twenty years ago that you could walk around with one device that holds more than 250 books! Who would have thought 10 years ago the explosion of the digital/ebook era would have been possible.

I recently went to a workshop for writers in my hometown, when the presenter was an older gentleman. While very knowledgeable about the craft, he was totally off about submitting to agents/editors. I hated continually correcting him but he was talking to a bunch of new writers and they needed to know the truth. He was very uncomfortable with ebooks and e-publishing.

I’m not saying that you have to be the expert in all things happening but you at least need to stay on top of the trends. For instance, he also talked about marketing your book after publication. He was literally stuck in the 70’s for that. When I mentioned social media, he again didn’t really know what I was talking about.

So again I’m not saying you have to be a social media busy bee, but at least know of the changes. To this day I have not gotten into Twitter. I know I should, I just haven’t. Maybe tomorrow. So the idea behind this blog, is don’t hide in your writing room and only write. You also need to stay abreast of the world and technology. Because when you do get published, you’re going to need to market your work. And what worked ten years ago, will not work today. For that matter, as fast as things are moving today… what worked today, may not work tomorrow!

Stay tuned….

Angela Abderhalden
Acquiring Editor
Seventh Wave Books, LLC
http://www.seventhwavebooks.com
seventhwavebooks@gmail.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

